TCL 20 Pro 5G Unlocked Android Smartphone

TCL 20 Pro 5G Unlocked Android Smartphone

Network

Compatible with Verizon 5G, T-Mobile and AT&T LTE networks (without AT&T 5G). If your device doesn’t work with Verizon, please restart the phone. If your device experiences an error when making calls on Verizon, your account may need to be provisioned to support “CDMA-less” devices with the assistance of Verizon’s technical support team or your account’s business representative. This device isn’t compatible with CDMA networks-such as Sprint, Spectrum, Xfinity,etc.

TCL 20 Pro 5G Smartphone
Experience awe-inspiring visuals in true-to-life color, clarity and contrast on the flowing screen of 6.67” FHD+ AMOLED Dotch display powered by NXTIVISION. Visual comfort and protection are built into TCL 20 Pro 5G with a TÜV Rheinland low blue light certification as well as smart brightness and tonality.
Capture sharp photos and videos with the 48MP Sony OIS main camera, 16MP ultra wide-angle, 5MP macro, and 2MP depth camera.
32MP front camera with dedicated RGB sensor accurately captures skin tone and natural lighting for beautiful selfies.
Technical Parameters:
Dimensions: 6.45 x 2,87 x ~9.05mm
Weight: 0.42lb
Chipset: Qualcomm Snapdragon 750G 5G Mobile Platform
Quad rear camera:48MP OIS Camera + 16MP Ultra Wide Camera + 5MP Macro Camera + 2MP Depth Camera
Front Camera: 32MP
Memory:6GB + 256GB(Supports micro SDXC card up to 1TB)
Connectivity
5G data: 2.737Gbps downlink, 625Mbps uplink
4G data: CAT18 1.2Gbps downlink, CAT13 150Mbps uplink
3G data: HSPA+ (42Mbps dowlink, 5.76Mbps uplink)
2G data: GPRS/EDGE
5G bands: n2/5/7/41/66/71/78
4G bands: B1/2/3/4/5/7/8/12(MFBI)/13/14/17/20/25/26/28/29/30/38/40/41/48/66/71
3G bands: UMTS B1/2/4/5/8
2G bands: GSM 850/900/1800/1900
Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac
Supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi or 5GHz Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi Direct, Wi-Fi casting, 5G/4G Mobile Hotspot, VoLTE (optional), VoWiFi (optional) Bluetooth 5.1, Super Bluetooth
NFC
USB: USB Type-C 2.0
Single SIM model: 4FF Nano SIM + Micro SD
Face Key, in-display optical fingerprint sensor
What’s Included
1 x TCL 20 Pro 5G Mobile phone
1 x TCL 20 Pro 5G Mobile Phone Case
1 x SIM card PIN
1 x Type-C Cable
1 x 9V2A charger
1 x Quick Guide
Notes: Headphones, SIM Card and SD Card not included.

Features & Specifications

  • Unlocked Smartphone: Compatible with Verizon 5G and LTE network, T-Mobile 5G and LTE network, AT&T LTE networks (without AT&T 5G). If your device doesn't work with Verizon, please restart the phone. If your device experiences an error when making calls on Verizon, your account may need to be provisioned to support “CDMA-less” devices with the assistance of Verizon’s technical support team or your account’s business representative. This device isn't compatible with CDMA networks-such as Sprint, Spectrum, Xfinity,etc.
  • The Power of 5G: Experience revolutionary speeds, faster streaming, quicker downloads, as well as enhanced AI features and hyper-accurate GPS with the Qualcomm Snapdragon 750G 5G Mobile processor. And 6GB of RAM provide effortlessly smooth performance. More sharing, more gaming, more experiences, never miss a beat.This Model is made for the US with a one-year US warranty.
  • NXTVISION 2.0 Intelligent Display: Discover seamless visuals that go beyond the edge with the TCL 20 Pro 5G smartphone's 6.67-inch FHD+ NXTVISION AMOLED Dotch Display. Immerse yourself in a vivid, true-to-life visual world. The phone's AI visual enhancement intelligently detects your environment's lighting and automatically enhances brightness, color, clarity, and contrast for the best visuals.
  • 48MP OIS Quad Camera: Capture sharp photos and videos with the 48MP Optical Image Stabilization (OIS) main camera. The 16MP ultra wide-angle, 5MP macro, and 2MP depth camera allow you to capture and explore more of the world around you. The 32MP front camera with dedicated RGB sensor accurately captures skin tone and natural lighting for stunning selfies.
  • Keep More: 256GB ROM storage gives you enough space to keep all your apps, picture, videos, music and files without feeling the pinch. You can also expand up to 1TB with a microSD card (sold separately). the in-display fingerprint sensor and face unlock provide for fast and secure access.
  • Weight: 2.11 ounces

Pros & Cons

Pros

TCL works out the kinks in this second generation. I purchased the TCL 20 Pro in Moondust Gray to replace my TCL 10 Pro. Although specs alone won't suggest a major leap forward, I can attest this generation is truly an upgrade. First thing to note is the screen. It's a little taller than the TCL 10 Pro and I really like the extra real estate. TCL's known for making excellent TVs and that display expertise is evident in the 20 Pro. The display is bright, colorful, and is easy on the eyes, no matter what I'm watching or reading. Improved processing also makes it smoother while jumping between apps or scrolling through long pages. The camera is much improved over the 10 Pro. Again, on paper it doesn't seem like much. However, clearly TCL made key improvements in all the right places, most notably with the Sony-sourced lenses and updated camera software. Not sure what else they tweaked, but it's a big improvement over the 10 Pro and it takes pics that are vibrant and clear, regardless of lighting conditions. One of my favorite features is carried over from the 10 Series and that's the SmartKey. It's an extra button on the side that can be programmed to do quick tasks. Unlike other manufacturers, TCL makes it so easy to quick launch just about anything with SmartKey. It's a little higher up on the body than on the 10 Pro so it's placement doesn't feel quite right yet, but I'm sure I'll get used to it. Processing is greatly improved. So far the phone is fast, smooth, and shows no signs of sluggishness moving between apps or while browsing the web. Even the camera processing for Portrait and Super Night photos seems quicker than in the 10 Series. Something that might get lost in other reviews, but that I really appreciate as a former Pixel user, is the lack of bloatware. Beyond some basic software like TCL's excellent NXTVISION, or theme improvements, the phone isn't too far off from stock Android. VERY big plus. TCL is known for creating products that punch above their respective weight classes, with performance that belies their price tags. I can attest that the phone's performance (not to mention the incredible build quality) stays true to that reputation. In some ways it naturally isn't going to rival flagship phones from other brands that cost twice as much, but trust me it punches far above its weight class.

I am really love it. I usually only purchase Samsung Cell phones, my latest was the S10e, and really loved it but it broke, and had to find a replacement. When I found this one I was skeptical, I looked at Samsung, but the S21 if very expensive and I really did not want to spend that much money. So I took my chances and to my surprise, I Love this phone. The camera could use a little improvement, not as good as the Samsung, but it is very good, so I am satisfied. Now I just purchased it so we will see how it lasts. I love the slick design, the size is a little larger, but I will adjust. The screen is very smooth, the fingerprinter reader is perfect, now that is way better than the Samsung also the Facial recognition is spot on. I also love that I can uninstall any app, like Netflix, Samsung must have a contract with them you can only disable them. But this phone lets you uninstall them completely. I love that. So far the connection to the network is Awsome. I have TMobile and getting 5G. It has an external SD card that supports up to 1 TB. That is awesome as well. The wireless charging is a little slow at charging, but that is fine with me. I will update in a few months to see how it is working.

Excellent Value, Beautiful Design. You'll see allot mentioned about the phone's looks and camera, but this device actually has some beneficial privacy features added as a bonus. To add to a very stable and smooth software experience, there's what TCL calls a Privacy Protection dashboard. In it you'll be able to set notifications (via colored pills in the status bar) to alert you when apps use privacy-sensitive permissions in the background, such as microphone, location, or camera permissions. You can also feed fake data to apps, for example apps that require contacts permission to run. A log of sensitive background behavior is also included in the Privacy Protection dashboard, letting you see which apps use privacy-sensitive permissions, and how often those permissions are used. I will add that the display on this phone is superb, and it actually doesn't bother me that it's a 60hz display, as TCL did a very good job of tuning the firmware for overall smoothness. Battery life and connectivity have been good. Definitely recommend this device to anybody that's seeking a value-packed alternative to the Samsung's of the world.

Wow!! Blown away!! I usually buy mid range phones. I upgrade annually. This year I decided to get something similar (but better) than my previous phone which was the Motorola Edge. The TCL 20 Pro 5G also has an edge screen but it is not constantly interfering with my web browsing as my prior phones screen did. With 6GB memory and 256GB storage you get a very solid performance and the snapdragon 750 is more than ample horsepower for just about anything including using several apps at a time and gaming. The UI is pretty darn close to stock Android. The camera so far is solid and I love that there's no camera hump. The glass back is able to wirelessly charge unlike my previous phone with the heavily scratchable plastic back. The Marine Blue looks like a cross between sky blue and aqua. This phone feels, looks and acts as if it's a top tier thousand dollar phone but at $499.99 I feel like I made a great purchase. The AMOLED screen is sharp and the colors are amazing and the black is very deep and makes reading on this 6.67 inch screen a pleasure. Battery life here you through a day with ease. No battery anxiety here. I highly recommend this phone!!

Worth the investment, Great phone! I was looking for a budget device with a flagship look and feel, one of my friends recommend this TCL 20 Pro 5G phone, never had a TCL phone before. But after research I have decided to give it a try. This phone looks great, really like the curved edges. The edges of the display are curved, though, making the phone pretty comfortable to hold. It has four rear cameras; photo quality is great. Battery life seems to be fairly impressive, it will get you through a day of moderate use. It has wireless charging function but does not have the fast charging function. I am a T-Mobile user, the call quality is great and works great on both 4G and 5G in the areas that I lived.

An Extreme Amount of Value. This phone provided some of the best visuals and just overall feel from a device. As someone who made the switch from Apple to Android, the switch could not have been any easier. Outside of software, here are some great features any prospective buyer should know. - The screen quality is amazing (which makes sense because of TCL's history of making TVs) and blew me away. Having the curved display is pleasing to the eyes and really creates an enjoyable watching/scrolling experience. - Camera quality was great! What was even better was the ability to change the video quality from 4K/30fps all the way down to 720/60fps if needed. (I standardize at 1080/60fps and everything looks perfect for what I need). There are 4 individual camera lenses on the back and one on the front, all with decent specs or functions and the wide-angle is actually quite handy for trickier shots. - Smart Key is actually a very underrated function. Having a dedicated hardware button that can be configured to what you need is very easy. For example, I have my smart key 1 press set to search Google, 2 press to turn on a flashlight (no more fumbling in the dark getting to an app or part of the home screen), and kept the default long hold to Google Assistant for easy phone commands via voice. - NXTVISION allows for users to essentially color calibrate the screen of the phone for either those sensitive to blue light or to enhance the quality of the pictures while viewing images or playing games. This kind of goes beyond just having a dark mode and as someone who works from mobile devices quite often, this feature made me feel like I was protected even more after long hours. - On top of the following, some of the nice features include the USB-C charging which is lightning fast paired with a phone that actually holds battery life throughout being used, and the regular headphone jack which seems to be an endangered dinosaur-like feature that I so often appreciate having.

Cons

It's okay but I don't plan on keeping it. Pros: * Great display * headphone jack & MicroSD slot on a 2021 phone * Programmable button * Side app drawer independent of launcher. * Google Dialer built-in with working visual voicemail. * Doesn't feel cheap or slow (can run dolphin & RetroArch) except Edge stutters * little to no bloatware * privacy options. * Eye Comfort mode is very good (and adjustable) Cons: * Stock camera app is abysmal (use BSG's GCam port instead) * "Helpful" optimization app kills processes immediately, making LIFX, Flic, etc. useless. * No TWS+ support * Wireless Android Auto audio stutters * Can't set separate voicemail & text notification * Persistent nag when developer options are enabled * No stereo speakers * Auto brightness is nowhere near as good as the OnePlus 7 Pro * Doesn't display Bluetooth battery level * Picky wireless charging * Can't set accent color other than the default blue * One security update as of 10/22/21 which made random unlocks, bluetooth and AA worse * No Voice-over-WiFi * Persistent notifications like music or podcast apps will turn into an all-black bar if the screen turns off & on or the phone is locked. * Randomly locks itself even with smart lock/on-body detection disabled and bluetooth unlock enabled. Sadly, this phone is better on paper than reality. It has a few unique features that make it stand out from other budget/mid-tier phones, but those don't compensate for all the odd omissions & problems I've come across. Some of these issues are minor or took a few weeks to appear, but I should've gone for a more established brand. I think the hardware is solid but it's obvious TCL is still getting the hang of Android support.

Overall good but some issues with external SD card. Pros: - Good screen - Snappy response - 3.5 mm soundjack + IR blaster Ok: - Camera (can sometimes lag; quality is ok) - Fingerprint sensor (can sometimes have trouble recognizing fingerprint) Cons: - Doesn't work with micro SD cards greater than 32 GB (explained below). I liked the phone overall. Took 2 stars off because it was having issues with micro SD cards greater than 32 GB. Tested with the following micro SD cards which included formatting the cards on the phone: 256 GB Samsung EVO - Phone would recognize. After taking some pictures the phone would recognize the card and show the used/total space, but the files on the card would not show up. 128 GB Samsung EVO - Phone would not even recognize this card 128 GB PNY - Same as the 256 GB EVO one. 32 GB SanDisk - Works normally For reference my old phone, the Moto X Pure 2015, only supports micro SD cards up to 128 GB, but it was able to handle the 256 GB Samsung EVO card just fine. So maybe I just got a dud. Replacement coming, so hopefully it works. Update (8/22/2021): Just got the replacement. Tried it with the same micro SD cards as above with no luck.

I so wanted to love this phone. I don't. **Edit 6/9/22** The company responded to this review. The representative was much more committed to working WITH me to determine what the issue may be and how best to move forward. I am very satisfied with the experience so far and I do still love the features of this phone. Thank you TCL. My faith in your company is restored! ________________________________________________________ I'm a techie. I research a purchase extensively. I bought a TCL Roku TV about a year ago and I LOVE IT! When I saw that I could have relatively similar specs in this TCL 20 PRO to phones almost three times the cost, I started digging. What I ultimately found was that TCL has been making phones for many years, just not selling them under their own name. Now I'm really intrigued. I use my phone for business like so many people do. The camera is particularly important for me. What really tipped the decision was the fact that the TCL still has memory expansion capability, where the super expensive major brands do not. I'm trying not to be forced to subscribe to everything including the air that I breathe so yes, I do want to be able to slip an SD card into my phone! I didn't love that it doesn't use Gorilla Glass, but rather 'sapphire glass'. I understand that it's almost as hard as a diamond, and will likely resist scratches well, but I still prefer to have a thin, hard glass screen protector. Every review you've read that says the screen protector screws up the touch screen performance is accurate. I took it off within two days. I spent the obligatory two weeks getting all the apps, sounds, settings and alerts the way I wanted them and learning to recognize the new alert sounds so I know right away which email that is or who just texted me. I noticed that the jack for the charging cable felt a little wiggly. Not loose per se, but if that's how it is out of the box, I felt it was a potential point of failure in the not so distant future with daily plugging and unplugging, so I bought magnetic charging cables. I use a magnetic dashboard mount. The location of the wireless charging receiver in the phone coincides with the logical and functional placement of the magnet plate for the dash mount, so adding the plate will preclude using wireless charging. This didn't concern me as I do not use wireless charging. The sound quality of the phone is great for a voice call, but the speaker is not stereo so don't plan on enjoying music or movies through the built-in speaker. The screen resolution is very nice and I've been happy with the camera performance although I do think there is more of a difference from the top brands than the marketing and basic specifications would suggest. Ready for it? Within 6 weeks I noticed a lighted ring around the front facing camera. Sometimes it's brighter than others, but it's still staying lit. It wasn't staying lit when I first got the phone. I poked around the manual, contacted TCL support and found that this light is for the "Face Unlock" feature. I turned off the Face Unlock feature but the light didn't go away. For the past 6 weeks, I've been locked in a battle for customer service with a rep who will not answer any questions, or escalate the ticket upon request - she just insists I factory reset the phone. The six week old phone. A factory reset will remove apps, settings, preferences, sounds... everything that I spent two weeks setting up. I don't want to factory reset my phone, I want to know what could cause that light to stay on - specifically - could it indicate that someone has remote control of the front facing camera? Not hard. Ask someone in engineering or a product manager, could this indicate someone is remote controlling my camera? The light isn't the issue. The possibility that someone is controlling the camera, very much IS the issue. Four times they've tried to close my ticket saying I didn't respond, when I had. After three weeks of requesting escalation to a supervisor, I found a missed call on my phone just before 6PM Eastern US time from an international phone number. A call that would have been made late at night local time for the caller. Interesting. Someone named Steve left a message saying he's a supervisor and I should factory reset my phone. He also emailed the same. I replied immediately, again asking to know what *COULD* cause this - because ultimately, I don't care if the light is on as long as it doesn't mean someone is remote controlling my camera. I also repeated the other question the 'customer service' rep refused to answer, which was, if I do factory reset it, and the light stays on, what is your plan? It has been two weeks and Steve the supervisor has never responded. The CSR again tried to close the ticket claiming I haven't responded when I have, and I'm just done. So, if you've gained remote control of my camera, you deserve to stare at my double chin. I didn't want to review the company, I wanted to review the phone. At the end of the day, if the company treats the consumer this way, don't buy the product. Neither is worth your money or time. I can't even use Amazon's trade-in program to buy the big name I should have just purchased the first time. They don't accept the TCL phones they're happy to sell us.

Eh....it's ok. Pros: -Good battery life -Pretty snappy & quick -Memory card slot -Great design & size -Good reception -Worked great on T-Mobile & AT&T (no WiFi calling on AT&T) -Camera takes decent pics for a mid-range phone Cons: -Had trouble with fingerprint reader -Camera app & viewing pics is extremely laggy & slow -Sometimes the screen stops responding for a couple seconds -Couldnt get it to activate on Visible Wireless (Verizon MVNO) -Screen brightness watching Netflix & HULU is not great compared to my OnePlus 8 Pro. -Single firing speaker is just ok -Very few accessories out there for it, especially screen protectors -Still on March 2021 security update? WTF? If this phone was a Dual-Sim phone in the U.S. then I might like it more, but total value for the money, you can do better with another brand like OnePlus or Samsung. They have some good mid-range phones with more accessory availability and more reliable software updates.

Decent Phone. There are a lot of things to say about this phone, but I will try to keep it as short as possible: Pros - Decent price - Decent hardware specs - Pretty good camera - Pretty good screen/visual quality - Loud speaker - construction/placement of speaker is good if you are left handed - it comes with a clear case and charger - it has a headphone port! (3mm or whatever) Cons - TCL scores very poorly on their environmental impact ratings - the touch screen is not very responsive to quick touches/movement ever after speeding up the response time - the fingerprint reader is not great. It works, but its not great - all of the touchscreen related issues get worse if you put a screen protector on (some protectors work and some don't) - The speaker is in the bottom right of the phone, pointing downward. My hand/finger often blocks it and therefore most of the sound - I often do not get notifications for important things like emails - My password manager often gets disabled even though I use it multiple times per day, and I have to reset it and give it permissions over and over again - When you set your phone to do not disturb it often doesn't restore all of your notifications when you turn it off - There's very, very, very few cases available (and the ones that do exist are just okay) Overall, this is a perfectly fine phone. I'm not excited about it, but I also don't hate it. I will be saving up money for a better phone as soon as I can.

TCL10 vs. Pixel 4A5G vs. TCL 20 Pro 5G. I've been an Android enthusiast, XDA Developer and beta tester since the first HTC many years ago. Had MANY phones since ... Sony, Sharp, Huawei, Samsung, Blu, OnePlus, Motorola and Umidigi. Bought my TCL 10L on Amazon March 2021 and really liked it but had a craving to try 5G and read rave reviews about Pixel 4A 5G so I bought it in the same month. Although the TCL 10L has a larger screen which makes ready tiny text easier, I found myself using the Pixel 99% of the time to take pics. As a Hasselblad and Nikon owner, I can attest to an excellent camera on the Pixel but I wanted a bigger screen so I started shopping for 6.6 to 6.7" screen with 5G. TCL 20 Pro 5G seemed to fill my needs with mixed camera reviews so I ordered it on Amazon. Here is what I discovered in less than 2 hours: 1. Gorgeous aqua blue back that changes colors as you tilt the phone. 2. No screen protector on the front! This surprised me because all the phones I've purchased in past few years ranging in price from $200 to $500 come with screen protectors already installed. However, the lack of a protector could be related to the curved edges of the screen. I've had a few phones before with those curved edges and finding a good screen protector for them , getting it applied and being happy with the results is not easy. 3. Phone came out of the box 49% charged so i collected it to a standard 2A charger. Almost immediately I felt the phone getting hotter than normal. Not a good sign. 4. Installed a Mint Mobile (a Tmobile MNVO) 5G SIM that I had already tested in my Pixel using speedtest.net: 81.3Mbps download 82.3Mbps upload. When I put the SIM in TCL 20 Pro 5G I was shocked to see a download speed of only 9.74Mbps. Tests in both phone were less than 5 minutes apart from exact same location. This made me think that the unit I received might have a defective radio. 5. After transferring all my data from Pixel to TCL phone. I rebooted to regain RAM memory and everything looked good. I pressed one of the app icons but nothing happened. Tried a different icon, still nothing. Depressed the power button and it brought the main screen icons back to life. This was another bad sign of a defective phone. 6. Tested the TCL 20 Pro 5G camera. Good quality, only a tiny bit "less sharpness" than same pic with Pixel 4A 5G. Difference was so little, only a perfectionist (like me) might notice it. 7. Screen brightness is better than the Pixel 4A 5G but contract ratio noticeably worse, meaning that at maximum screen brightness I noticed blacks slightly turning to gray. BOTTOM LINE: Overheating during charging, screen freeze, possibly defective 5G receiver or antenna made the decision for me in only 2 hours: Returned it the same day. In fairness to TCL, defectives do happen and i plan to visit the TCL booth at the upcoming CES 2022 trade show.

Get this on Amazon.

 

#CommissionsEarned

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.